Accenture Adwords Interview Questions and Answers

Hi Guys. Accenture is dream job for Everone. Its good news that Accenture Have openings for Google Adwords various process starting from Ad Approval to Campaign Builder. But in order to crack the interview apart from communication skills one should have strong command over Google Adwords Concepts.

Many of my students gave interview and they have cleared the interview. I have collected questions and tried to answer here. But instead of preparing those questions it is always good know the subject and put some budget live.

I am Giving link to all my Youtube videos where i have clearly explained about the Adwords Topics. Once have a look over there. If you like then post your questions on comment section so that i will try to answer your questions. I strongly believe that if you watch all those videos you will definetly clear Any adwords interview.

What is Google Ad                                   
How Adwords Works                            
Adwords Account structure              
Adwords vs Adwords express           
Adwords Tutorial                                      

Search Network Beginners                

Search Network Advanced                
How to edit Adwords Campaigns 
manual vs Automatic Bidding         
factor Affecting Adrank                      
Keyword Match Types                         
Ad Extensions                                           
Auction Insights                                       
Conversion Tracking                             
Display Network                                     
Gmail Ads                                                     
Video Ads                                                     
Universal Campaign                               

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From the above Videos you will get knowledge on following topics

  1. What is Impression
  2. What is Clicks
  3. What is Adrank
  4. What is Daily Budget
  5. Adwords Account Structure
  6. Types of Networks in Google Ad
  8. What is Quality Score
  9. What is Adrank Score
  10. Ad Rank depends on What
  11. Location Options
  12. Standard vs Accelerated
  13. Ad Rotation
  14. Ad Schedule
  15. Keyword Match Types
  16. Ad extensions
  17. Ad Approval process
  18. Manual vs Automatic Bidding
  19. Auction Insights
  20. Keyword planner
  21. Conversion Tracking
  22. Frequency capping
  23. Remarketing
  24. Merchant Account
  25. My Client Center
  26. Adwords editor
  27. Google Forwarding Number
  28. GCLID
  29. Call Only Ad
  30. Off  Line Conversions

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Feeling Inspired. test Your Knowledge on basics of Google Adwords Here

Google AdWords Practice Test

These are the Follow Questions Asked by Accenture:

  1. Explain Google Adwords Editor
  • AdWords Editor is a free, downloadable application for managing your AdWords advertising campaigns.
  • The basic process is simple: download one or more accounts, make changes offline, then upload the changes to AdWords.
  • AdWords Editor can help you save time and make it easier to make changes in bulk.
  • Use bulk editing tools to make multiple changes quickly.
  • Export and import files to share proposals or make changes to an account.
  • View statistics for all campaigns or a subset of campaigns.
  • Manage, edit, and view multiple accounts at the same time.
  • Search and replace text across ad groups or campaigns.
  • Copy or move items between ad groups and campaigns.
  • Undo and redo multiple changes while editing your campaigns.
  • Make changes in draft before uploading them to your account.
  • Keep working even when you’re offline.

CTR – Click through Rate :

Click-through rate (CTR) is a measure of the percentage of clicks advertisers receive out of total ad impressions. “Impressions” refers to the number of times your ad is viewed. If your ad has a log of impressions but no clicks, you will have a low CTR, which generally reduces the effectiveness of your campaigns.

CTR=(Total Clicks /Total impressions)*100

Conversion Rate Formula :

Convertion Rate=(Total conversions/Total clicks)*100

What is outranking share :

Target outranking share is a type of portfolio bid strategy that automates bidding across multiple campaigns, ad groups, and                                      keywords to help your ads outrank ads from another domain.

How many campaigns/Ad Groups can be created in an Ad-Words account –

10,000 campaigns and 20,000 Ad Grops

What is a shared library:

Shared library like a container which has :

1.Audience manager: For remarketing tag

2.Portfolio bid strategies :An automated, goal-driven bid strategy that groups together multiple campaigns, ad groups, and keywords.Portfolio bid strategies automatically set bids to help you reach your performance goals.

They include three Smart bidding strategies — Target CPA, Target ROAS, and Enhanced CPC — and other strategies including Maximize Clicks, Target Search Page Location, and Target Outranking Share.

Once you create a portfolio strategy, it will be stored in your Shared library. This is the central location for managing your portfolio bid strategies and tracking their performance.

Use the Campaigns, Ad groups, and Keywords pages to add items to a portfolio bid strategy.

3.Negative keyword lists: This feature in the Shared Library comes in handy to create a universal list of negative keywords that can be applied to multiple campaigns.

4.Shared budgets: The Shared Budget feature is excellent to use when you have a fixed budget to work with for multiple campaigns.

5.Placement exclusion lists:  Like negative keyword list we can create irrelevant sites list that avoid those sites to show Ad for Display Network.

What are the types of networks in Google Ad-Words?

There are 5 networks in Google Adwords

  1. Search Network
  2. Display Network
  3. Shopping
  4. Video
  5. Universal App

What are dynamic Search Ads (DSA):

When a customer’s search is relevant to your product or service, Adwords will dynamically generate an ad with a clear headline for the most relevant page on your site.

Show ads created from the content of your website. Dynamic Search Ads look like text ads, but the ad headlines and landing pages are dynamically generated in response to people’s specific searches on Google.

Dynamic Search Campaigns are designed to cover the products and services on your website without keyword maintenance. For more control, you can customize your targeting with category and URL targets (and exclusions). You can even use a page feed to target specific URLs.

What is the highest membership duration for display re-marketing list:

Default is 30 days and max is 540 days

Campaign settings :

The campaign settings you select will apply to all ads within the same campaign. The type of campaign you choose determines which settings are available to you.

There are the setting options:

  • Campaign name
  • Campaign status
  • Goal
  • Network
  • Locations
  • Languages
  • Budget
  • Bidding
  • Start and end dates
  • Dynamic search ads
  • Ad rotations
  • Location options
  • campaign URL options
  • IP exclusions

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How to divide budget across multiple campaigns:

Shared budget

How to use keywords match types:

1.Broad match: A keyword setting that allows your ad to show when someone searches for that keyword or a variation of it. The broad match keyword “bicycle bell” can cause your ad to show if someone searches for variations like “bicycle bells,” “buy a bell for a bicycle,” and “bell reviews for bikes.”

2.Phrase match: A keyword setting that allows your ad to show only when someone’s search includes the exact phrase of your keyword, or close variations of the exact phrase of your keyword, with additional words before or after. The phrase match keyword “bicycle bell” can cause your ad to show if someone searches for “bicycle bell,” “buy bicycle bell,” and “bicycle bell reviews.”

3.Exact match: A keyword setting that allows your ad to show only when someone searches for your keyword or close variants of your keyword. Close variants may include:

  • Misspellings
  • Singular or plural forms
  • Stemmings (for example, floorand flooring)
  • Abbreviations
  • Accents
  • Reordered words with the same meaning (for example, [shoes mens] and [mens shoes])
  • Addition or removal of function words. Function words are prepositions (like inor to), conjunctions (like for or but), articles (like a or the), and other words that don’t impact the intent of a search. For example, [shoes for men] is a close variant of [men shoes] with the function word “for” removed.

Bid strategies :

Adwords offers several bid strategies that are tailored to different types of campaigns. Depending on which networks your campaign is targeting, and whether you want to focus on getting clicksimpressionsconversions, or views you can determine which strategy is best for you.

Bid strategy based on focus:

Focus on conversions with Smart Bidding

  • Target CPA (cost-per-acquisition): If you want to optimize for conversions, you can use Target CPA to help increase conversions while targeting a specific cost-per-acquisition (CPA).
  • Target ROAS (return-on-ad-spend): If you want to optimize for conversion value, you can use Target ROAS to help increase conversion value while targeting a specific return-on-ad-spend (ROAS).
  • Maximize Conversions: If you want to optimize for conversions, but just want to spend your entire budget instead of targeting a specific CPA, you can use Maximize Conversions.
  • Enhanced cost-per-click (ECPC): If you want to automatically adjust your manual bids to try to maximize conversions, you can use ECPC. It’s an optional feature you can use with Manual CPC bidding.

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Focus on clicks with CPC bidding

  • Maximize Clicks: This is an automated bid strategy. It’s the simplest way to bid for clicks. All you have to do is set a daily budget, and the AdWords system automatically manages your bids to bring you the most clicks possible within your budget.


  • Manual CPC bidding: This lets you manage your maximum CPC bids yourself. You can set different bids for each ad group in your campaign, or for individual keywords or placements. If you’ve found that certain keywords or placements are more profitable, you can use manual bidding to allocate more of your advertising budget to those keywords or placements.


Focus on impressions

  • Target Search Page Location: This is an automated bid strategy that automatically sets your bids to help increase the chances that your ads appear at the top of the page, or on the first page of search results.
  • Target Outranking Share: This is an automated bid strategy that lets you choose a domain you want to outrank so that your ad is displayed above that domain’s ads, or shows when that domain’s ad does not. You can set how often you want to outrank that domain, and AdWords automatically sets your Search bids to help meet that target.
  • Cost-per-thousand impressions (CPM): With this bid strategy, you’ll pay based on the number of impressions (times your ads are shown) that you receive on YouTube or the Google Display Network.
  • Cost-per-thousand viewable impressions (vCPM):

Focus on views or interactions (for video ads only):

If you run video ads, you can use cost-per-view (CPV) bidding. With CPV bidding, you’ll pay for video views and other video interactions, such as clicks on the calls-to-action overlay (CTAs), cards, and companion banners. You just enter the highest price you want to pay for a view while setting up your TrueView video campaign.

How re-marketing works:

Remarketing shows ads to people who’ve visited your website or used your mobile app. When people leave your website without buying anything, for example, remarketing helps you reconnect with them by showing relevant ads across their different devices.

Relation between ad performance and conversion rate :

Performance of a website – To help you get comfortable tracking data for your ads running on the Search Network, we suggest monitoring the clicks, impressions, and especially the clickthrough rate (CTR) of your ads and keywords. CTR is the percentage of people that clicked on your ad after they saw it. By tracking it, you can make sure that your ads and keywords are attractive to customers. Find these statistics listed in columns in your account’s statistics table. If you don’t see them, click the Columns button and select the ones you’d like to enable.

Conversion rate – One of the most important parts of paid inclusion campaigns, the conversion rate of a website is the measurement of the success of a paid inclusion campaign. A conversion rate is measured by the number of potential visitors performing the desired action, whether the action is buying a product, filling out a form, or some other goal of the web page. For example, if there are 100 visitors to a particular web page via a pay per click ad, and one of those 100 buys the product the website sells, then the conversion rate for that particular ad is one percent. The larger the conversion rate of a web page means the more successful the website will be as well as how successful the paid inclusion campaign is.


forecasts mean

  • Clicks
  • Impression
  • Average position Cost
  • Clickthrough rate
  • Average cost-per-click
  • Conversions
  • Average cost-per-acquisition
  • Total conversion value
  • Return on ad spend

Types of conversions:

Types of conversions – can view cross-device, cross-browser, and other conversion data in                                                   your “All conversions” reporting column.

How conversion tracking works:

Conversion tracking starts with you creating a conversion action in your AdWords account. A conversion action is a specific customer activity that is valuable to your business. You can use conversion tracking to track the following kinds of actions:

1.Website actions: Purchases, sign-ups, and other actions that customers complete on your website.

2.Phone calls: Calls directly from your ads, calls to a phone number on your website, and clicks on a phone number on your mobile website.

3.App installs and in-app actions: Installs of your Android or iOS mobile apps, and purchases or other activity within those apps.

4.Import: Customer activity that begins online but finishes offline, such as when a customer clicks an ad and submits a contact form online, and later signs a contract in your office.

In-market and affinity audience:

In-market audiences is a way to connect with consumers who are actively researching or comparing products and services across Google Display Network publisher and partner sites and YouTube.

Affinity audiences: Select from these audiences to reach potential customers at scale and make them aware of your business.

Auction insights:

Auction insights – Use the auction insights in Google AdWords to compare your competitors and your own campaign, ad group and keyword performance. You find the auction insights in Google AdWords on campaign, ad group or keyword level under the tab Details. The auction insights report displays an extract of available impressions in the search network for the defined time range.

Search terms report:

Use the search terms report to see how your ads performed when triggered by actual searches within the Search Network.


Use the search terms report to identify new search terms with high potential, and add them to your keyword list. Look for search terms that aren’t as relevant to your business, and add them as negative keywords. This can help you avoid spending money showing your ad to people who aren’t interested in it.

Why do you use Google Ads:

AdWords is Google’s paid advertising product. Those are AdWords ads that a company paid for so that people will notice their business whenever they’re searching Google. And, they only have to pay whenever someone clicks on the ad. This is known as cost-per-click advertising (CPC).

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CPC: cost per click

CPC is the most you’ll typically be charged for a click, but you’ll often be charged less — sometimes much less. That final amount you’re charged for a click is called your actual CPC. If you enter a max. CPC bid and someone clicks your ad, that click won’t cost you more than the maximum CPC bid amount that you set.

CPA: Cost Per acquisition

CPA bidding is a method of paid advertising that allows you to tightly control your advertising spend. Rather than paying Google for every time someone clicks on one of your ads (as with CPC bidding), CPA bidding only requires you to pay for each conversion, a metric you define yourself when you set up each campaign.

How to check daily campaign cost of last 7 days:

In auction insights you can see the data for the last 7 days.

At what levels are bids and budgets suggested?

Campaign level

What is budget delivery? Describe each type.

  1. Standard – How it works: The standard delivery method aims to evenly distribute your budget across the entire day (12 a.m. – 11:59 p.m.) to avoid exhausting your budget early on.

Why use it: Recommended for new advertisers, this delivery method is useful if you want to reach customers evenly throughout the day. If you have a small budget, this method can also help you avoid spending your entire budget in the morning. For instance, if you run a gourmet food delivery business, you’d want to make sure you reach customers at breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

What to expect: Since your ad delivery occurs throughout the day, you might not see your ad appear every time you look for it, particularly if your campaign is limited by budget.

  1. Accelerated – How it works: Accelerated delivery is optimized less. It spends your budget more quickly, usually at the start of the day (i.e., 12:00 am). Because of this, accelerated delivery isn’t recommended for most advertisers. So if your campaign is limited by budget, your campaign may exhaust its average daily budget early in the day, causing your ad to stop showing for most of the day.

Why use it: Though not recommended for most advertisers, you can use this method if it’s important to you that your ads start showing in the morning and more quickly thereafter, until your average daily budget is reached — even if that means they might not show throughout the entire day.

What to expect: If your campaign is limited by budget, your ads will stop showing once you’ve reached the average daily budget allocated for that day. If you reach your budget limit early in the morning, your ad won’t run again until the next day, so you might not see your ad appear every time you look for it, particularly at night.

What are bid strategies? What’s the difference between eCPC & tCPA? Which advertiser would use eCPC and not tCPA?

Bid strategies –

  • Target CPA (cost-per-acquisition)
  • Target ROAS (return-on-ad-spend)
  • Maximize Conversions
  • Enhanced cost-per-click (ECPC)

Difference between eCPC and tCPA –The main differences between Target CPA and ECPC:

  • eCPC makes small adjustments to maximum CPC bids that you manually set, while Target CPA automatically generates bids to try and meet your target CPA.
  • eCPC initially modifies 50% of traffic, and then moves that percentage up or down based on how it is performing, while Target CPA modifies 100% of traffic.
  • eCPC can raise your max CPC bid no higher than 30%, while Target CPA can fully adjust bids to maximize conversions.

Which advertiser would use eCPC and not tCPA – If you want to generate traffic to your website, focusing on clicks could be ideal for you. Cost-per-click (CPC) bidding may be right for your campaign.

If you want to optimize for conversions, you can use Target CPA to help increase conversions while targeting a specific cost-per-acquisition (CPA).

what all the Ad group settings we have:

Each ad group has three Display Network settings: flexible reach, Display Network custom bid type, and targeting optimization. To view or change an ad group’s Display Network settings, visit the Ad groups tab.

Flexible reach

This setting specifies how broadly the ad group runs on the Display Network. To view or edit the flexible reach options for one or more ad groups, expand the Flexible reach panel on the Ad groups tab.

In the Flexible reach panel, you can choose between the following options for each potential Display Network target (placements, topics, interest and remarketing, gender, and age).


Display Network custom bid type

If your ad group contains different types of bids (keywords, placements, topics, interests and remarketing, gender, or age), the Display Network custom bid type setting determines which bids to use on the Display Network.

Targeting optimization

On the Ad groups tab, use the Targeting optimization setting to choose Aggressive targeting, Conservative targeting, or disable the Display Campaign Optimizer for ad groups.


AdWords location targeting allows your ads to appear in the geographic locations that you choose: countries, areas within a country, a radius around a location, or location groups, which can include places of interest, your business locations, or tiered demographics.

Location targeting helps you focus your advertising on the areas where you’ll find the right customers, and restrict it in areas where you won’t. This specific type of targeting could help increase your return on investment (ROI) as a result.


How to optimize ad copy:

  • Eliminate Unnecessary Words
  • Incorporate Power Words
  • Avoid Generic Copy
  • Perfect Your Call To Action

Behind drastic drop in CTR:

following reasons for a dropping CTR:

1) Sudden appearance of site targeted ads. These ads are untargeted (hence cheap) and exist mostly to promote a brand or get that odd click. Around 9th November (the day QS came to content), I experienced a sudden increase of CPM ads. I suggest to have a look at that.

2) Sudden appearance of MFA type ads. Especially if you are running a high-traffic high-quality site, people very soon get tired of “Top8” style sites. They learn from their disappointments (caused by clicking on promising ads but disappointing landing pages) and refrain from clicking on ads.

3) Seasonal influence. Obviously. Selling plastic Santas in April does not work too good. But then again, it’s typically not a sudden fall, but more of a gentle rise and fall. Have a look at the 31-day average CTR, averaging out the day-to-day swings. What does it say?

4) Repeat visitors. They seem to be a strong reason for dropping CTR. They are interested in your site (again and again) and not in clicking away from your site. It’s lovely, because your overall popularity and traffic rises, but your CTR goes slowly down. You should always have the right mix of old vs. new visitors.

What is negative farming:

Negative keywords let you exclude search terms from your campaigns and help you focus on only the keywords that matter to your customers. Better targeting can put your ad in front of interested users and increase your return on investment (ROI).

About conversion rates:

The average number of conversions per ad click, shown as a percentage.

  • Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversionsand dividing that by the number of total ad clicks that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.

Types of extensions and benefits:

1. Sitelink Extensions

Google Adwords Sitelinks are additional links in your advert that will take prospective customers direct to a specific page on your website.

1.Sitelink extensions allow you to:

  • measure the clicks going to specific sitelink pages on your website to learn even more about customer preferences
  • run specific short term campaigns to deep pages on your site to make it easier to run seasonal campaigns
  • create sitelinks specifically for mobile users

2. Callout Extensions

Callout extensions allow you to include additional descriptive text in your standard text ads. You can include specific attributes about your business, products, and services that will show below your ad on the Google Search Network.

3.Click to Text Extensions

If you are targeting a mobile audience, then the click to text extensions provide a quick an effective way for your customers to get in touch intuitively and a way in which they feel comfortable.

4.Call Extensions

Google Adwords Call Extensions give customers a convenient way to call your business directly from within the search results.

5.Review Extensions

6.Structure Snippet



How to find duplicate keywords:

Find duplicate keywords

  1. Select Tools> Find duplicate keywords.
  2. Select the part of your account where you want to search for duplicates. Check the box next to the account name to search the whole account, or select specific campaigns or ad groups.
  3. Select the criteria for your search, including:
    • Word order
    • Match types
    • Location of duplicates
    • Hide duplicates (optional)
  4. Click Find duplicate keywords.